Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Not long ago I made everyone else the center of attention and denied myself of being NUMERO UNO aka NUMBER ONE, but that day has ended!  I AM “Being the Center of Attention”…I AM putting myself ahead of the line…I AM LOVING ME like I’ve never done before.

My friends call me loyal. You may be saying, “What does this has to do with loving yourself?”…Read on, you’ll see.  They know I’m honest in what I say and sincere in what I do. It was a time when I could not say “NO!”  Of course, that time no longer exist. It used to be very hard for me to deny a friend help if I thought they needed it and they did, but when they began to expect it and disrespect me, I had to rethink some things before I reacted in a not-so-good way.  Then my  beautiful children whom I love and they know I love them, but they think I should do the things I did when they were young.  ‘No not at all, mommy has changed and so have you with your adult selves.’  Hahaha!  Love them dearly, but management of my time, my health and loving me has to play a significant part in “Being the Center of Attention”.

While I thought I was loving myself, I was on to the next level of things and some people thought I was being somewhat unapproachable, so I’ve been told; but I didn’t feel this way.  They told me, “You sit there with your arms crossed and you seldom share a smile. Well almost never smile.”  Who me? A person who loves to laugh and have a good time.  This couldn’t be true or could it be?  I’ve also have been told that I am BOLD in my stance and don’t give way to allowing someone to come in.  Ummmm… Okay…. But, when you get to know me, most see something different; something friendly and something good.  With all this being said, I took time out to think about some of these things.  I can admit, I’m not one to force myself on anyone, but I am completely approachable and welcome it.  During those times of crossing my arms I was definitely comfortable, but I do realize, this is a position that one may think I didn’t want to be bothered…Okay! NOT TRUE!  And smiling, that’s true…I didn’t smile much.  Why?  I didn’t like my teeth; plain and simple as that!  A friend checked me though and said, “You should smile more.  You can smile without showing your teeth and you can also smile using your eyes.”  Another point taken.  Haha!  But being BOLD is a great asset of mine.  It’s just learning when to use it!  I got that too!

In the spectrum of opinions and insight, I found some to be true.  I didn’t care about the attention, what people thought or about being approached so, the habit of crossing my arms was just that…crossing my arms; nothing more nothing less, but now I am aware of what it possibly looked like.  So I’ve changed that.  I also smile more, because I’ve learned to LOVE me more.   As I have lost weight and I am still in the process of losing weight, I am feeling really good about me; I’m looking better in my clothes and I’m putting me first, while still being the loyal friend that I am…But now, I Am “Being the Center of Attention”.   Although I was always that one that would make sure my friends were looking good; Of course I was looking good too, but they were important to me and I would go out of my way for them or do without to give to them…Not realizing I was somewhat neglecting myself.  The light finally came on and stayed on!  Through prayer came REVELATION and that has enlightened me to become a BETTER ME, while continuing to be WHO I AM…A FRIEND as I Am “BEING THE CENTER OF ATTENTION”!  

“He that falls in love with himself will have no rivals.” Benjamin Franklin

“We need to find the courage to say ‘NO’ to the things and people that are not serving us if we want to rediscover ourselves and live our lives with authenticity.”
Dr. Barbara DeAngelis

“I’m not the greatest; I’m the double greatest. Not only do I knock ’em out, I pick the round.”  – Muhammad Ali

